Award categories and stages How the awards work

The NHBC Health and Safety Awards are open to all NHBC registered builders. And, with categories designed for companies of all sizes, everyone has a great opportunity to win.

Best Site Awards

Awards are given to site managers who demonstrate an outstanding level of health and safety management - from planning through to execution.


The site or sites you enter will be allocated to one of the following categories based on the annual number of registrations that you make with NHBC.

  • Small builder - For a company (or group of companies) who register between 1 and 50 new homes for NHBC warranty cover each year.
  • Medium builder - For a company or group who register between 51 and 1000 new homes with NHBC each year.
  • Large builder - For a company or group who register 1001 or more new homes with NHBC each year.
  • Multi-storey builder - For companies building Multi-storey projects (where the prominent structure under construction on site during the judging period is 5 or more storeys)

Stage 1 - Commended

Stage 1 - Commended

The top-scoring sites in each category based on the multiple inspection visits carried out by NHBC Health and Safety advisors will be Commended.


Stage 2 - Highly Commended

Stage 2 - Highly Commended

Highly Commended sites are chosen from the pool of Commended Sites in each category.


Stage 3 - National Winners and runners-up

Stage 3 - National Winners and runners-up

All Highly Commended sites are then reviewed and judged by the independent judging panel. The panel chooses four National Award runners-up, as well as four National Winners from each category.


The Awards judging process

Meet the independent judging panel

Find out more

Contact us

Queries about the Health and Safety Awards? Call us on 0344 633 1000 and ask for "Events" or email us

Why enter

Recognition, morale, credentials

Find out more
Promote your award

Make the most of your success

Find out how
Other NHBC
Awards & Events
See more