the Pride In The Job Awards logo, written in very bold white letters and a magenta block on a navy background

Pride in the Job

The most prestigious award for exceptional site managers

Take pride: Recognising and celebrating the UK's best site managers

Pride in the Job is the most highly regarded competition in our industry. For more than four decades, the competition has been at the heart of our core purpose to build confidence in the quality of new homes.

By showcasing best practice and rewarding excellence, Pride in the Job continues to inspire site managers to build homes of the highest quality.

JANUARY 2022: The Supreme Award winners and Runner-up in the 2021 competition have been announced. See who had the ultimate PRIDE here.

Judging for the Quality Awards in the 2022 competition has just begun. We judge sites over an extended period to enable us to see how site managers deal with the different stages of construction and will announce the winners in June 2022. 

Everything you need to know

three people in site safety clothing, stood on scaffolding on a sunny day

How it works

We automatically enter every site manager with a site registered for an NHBC Buildmark warranty into the competition. There are no entry fees or forms. The competition is fully inclusive and representative of the UK house-building industry with three categories for different sized businesses: small, medium and large, with a separate multi-storey category.

Read more
an image showing the typical judging timeline of the pride in the job 2021 awards

Judging timeline

Judging for each Pride in the Job competition takes place over the course of around 18 months. Winners for the four levels of awards in the current competition will be announced as follows: the Quality Awards in June 2022, with Seals of Excellence and Regional Awards announced in the Autumn. The competition will culminate with our Pride in the Job Gala in January 2023.

Read more
mock brochure detailing best practice guides

Best practice guides

Our series of best practice guides take you through what the Pride in the Job judges look for at each stage of construction and when considering the site manager’s overall organisation and management skills. Learn what best practice looks like, see the judges’ marking sheets, discover what to avoid and get guidance on what sort of practice will earn you top marks in each section

Read more
someone wearing site safety clothing reading a tablet with nhbc's best practices to roofs

Judges' view

Meet two Pride in the Job judges, who have nearly 70 years’ judging experience between them. Find out what impact they feel the competition has on quality standards and the industry and hear what they think makes a site manager worthy of winning an award.

Read more
a blue pin stuck into a light magenta map


Our Building Inspectors, Inspection Managers and Regional Directors, with assistance from external judges, apply a meticulous judging process to thousands of active sites across the UK. The number of awards presented per region is weighted in proportion to the number of active sites under inspection in that region.

Read more
a page showing the rules of the pride in the job 2021 competition


The rules of Pride in the Job include eligibility for entry in the awards, the judging process of each level of award and how we notify winners. It also covers what happens if a site manager moves to a new site or employer during the competition year and how you can display the winners’ merchandise we provide.

Read more

Awards Archive

Welcome to the winners’ archive where you can find details of past Pride in the Job Award winners. If you require winner information from years prior to 2017 then please contact us.

2020- view winners

2019 - view winners

2018 - view winners