Construction Quality Reviews

Independent, expert help on site quality

A Construction Quality Review (CQR) is an independent, site-based review of the quality of your construction, undertaken by one of our subject experts. The CQR can be generic in nature, assessing up to 38 build stages or, it can be completely bespoke to your specific requirements such as focusing in on a specific build area.

Each CQR includes a detailed written report. We can also compare the data we collect from your site against your whole company performance and/or against national or regional industry data.

The focus of any CQR is to understand how levels of quality (both good and not so good) have resulted. Our experience to date is confirming that the root cause of many issues on site can be traced back to factors such as design, planning, materials or procurement. Often, it’s not just about workmanship.

Build stages are changing for 2021

From 4 January 2021, the 38 build stages in our CQRs will include three that are dedicated to fire safety.  This will enable us to provide our customers with improved, segmented data on fire-safety compliance as well as:

  • analyse and report on fire safety issues and their root causes
  • highlight trends and make cross-industry comparisons and, where relevant, regional and divisional comparisons within businesses
  • help the industry improve fire safety compliance.

What's changed

1. Foundations

1.2   Ground preparation, excavation, piling and formwork – merged build stage - now includes ‘Ground Preparation’ 

2. Substructure and Drainage

2.3   Sub-floor services and service entries – title changed, now includes ‘service entries’
2.5   Drainage (internal and external) – title changed, now includes ‘internal and external’

3. Superstructure

3.2   External envelope including chimneys and flues – merged build stage - now includes chimneys and flues
3.3   Cavities, insulation and soundproofing– merged build stage – now includes soundproofing
3.10 Fire stopping (Superstructure) – NEW build stage 

4. Roofs

4.1   Framing (including dummy chimneys) – title changed – now includes dummy chimneys
4.4   Ventilation, underfelt and insulation – content changed – fire stopping has been removed and added as a new section
4.6   Fire stopping (Roofs) - NEW build stage

5. First Fix

5.1   Window and door frames – title changed - from windows and doors
5.2   Floor decking, stairs and soundproofing – content changed – fire stopping has been removed and added as a new section
5.7   Plaster and dry lining – title changed – ‘to walls and ceilings’ has been removed
5.8   Fire stopping (First fix) - NEW build stage

CQR Build Stages 2021

Below you will find the complete revised list of CQR Build Stages. There are 38 build stages across 8 categories:


Contact us to discuss how we can help…